St Annes Catholic Church BUXTON
Tel 01298 23777

Home Page

Mary Magdala


The Church is now CLOSED. The Bishops' Conference of England and Wales, as part of the efforts to combat the spread of the coronavirus COVID-19, have stated that all public acts of worship must be suspended, and churches closed until further notice. 

Fr. Gerry is available on Buxton 23777

SUPPORT: Taking care of your mind as well as your body is important while staying at home because of coronavirus (COVID-19).

You may feel bored, frustrated or lonely. You may also be low, worried or anxious, or concerned about your finances, your health or those close to you.

It's important to remember that it is OK to feel this way and that everyone reacts differently. Remember, this situation is temporary and, for most of us, these feelings will pass. Staying at home may be difficult, but you are helping to protect yourself and others by doing it.

The tips and advice here are things you can do now to help you keep on top of your mental wellbeing and cope with how you may feel while staying at home:

The Catholic Deaf Association are preparing liturgical resources and videos:

A Facebook support group has been set up by some members of the Spirituality Committee at the Bishop’s Conference of England and Wales. The group – CCC Christ, Covid, Community – is the space to open doors and to allow hearts to speak to hearts, sharing journeys through this wilderness, remembering you are not alone. It promotes the Christ-centred solidarity that is stronger than any illness. The group can be found by searching on Facebook for: ‘CCC Christ, Covid, Community’ or through this link:

The Bishops’ Conference has produced a website called the Catholic Mental Health Project in which they have gathered a range of resources to help increase spiritual and pastoral support for those with mental health challenges, their families and carers. - Gospel reflections and prayers for children. - Pray as You Go is a daily prayer session, designed to help you pray whenever and wherever you find the time, designed to be used whilst travelling to and from work, studying, etc. but can easily be used at home.

Find us on Facebook  Link to live stream mass

Link to Fr. Gerry's Homily 

When mass cannot be celebrated publicly (72kb)
Prayers in this time of need (42kb)
Prayers during a time of flu and illness (74kb)

Live feeds: 
Bishop Patrick McKinney - YouTube channel

Pope Francis’ daily masses at Casa Santa Marta and the Sunday Angelus The Taizé community is broadcasting evening prayer every day at 7:30 pm (UK time) - Bishop Patrick is also live-streaming the following liturgies from the private chapel in Bishop’s House.
Join CAFOD online for a virtual children's liturgy at 10 am GMT each Sunday. You will need to register to join in. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar and you will be registered for all the sessions (12 in total).

Tel. 01298 23777